Christmas Tree Recycling

KTMB’s Christmas Tree Recycling program is a holiday tradition! We collect over 10,000 trees from our three drop-off sites BartleyJan8PM-3with the help of hundreds of volunteers each year. Since 2003, more than 100,000 trees have been recycled through the Christmas Tree Recycling program thanks to the help of thousands of volunteers and our many partners.

The 2015-16 Christmas Tree Recycling program runs from December 26 – January 10 and provides the community with convenient disposal of Christmas trees at three drop-off locations at Shadow Mountain Sports Complex, in Sparks, Bartley Ranch Regional Park and Rancho San Rafael Park in Reno. Drop-off times are from 9am – 4pm each day of the program at each site.

The Christmas Tree recycling program provides community residents with an easy alternative to dumping trees in the landfill or- as is sometimes seen- in the open spaces. The Christmas trees are chipped into mulch that is used for park and weed abatement projects and is available for free to area residents at the Bartley Ranch and Rancho San Rafael drop-off sites.

Christmas Tree Recycling is sponsored by the NV Energy Foundation in partnership with the City of Sparks Parks and Recreation, Washoe County Regional Parks and Open Space, City of Reno Urban Forestry, Sierra Fire Protection District, Truckee Meadows Fire Protection District, Nevada Division of Forestry, Washoe County Health Department, Tholl Fence, Waste Management Recycle America, City of Reno, City of Sparks, and Washoe County.



Leave a Reply